6/12/2009 (sorry for being behind in posting…..I’m still figuring this blog out)

The Union Talk……..

Hmmmm………that was interesting…..

Julie was impressed by the guy with the cute little “Gavel thingi”………….and it was a little emotional for me..(The union has saved my job now three different times)……I wanted to give something back. The union is an institution that has given me something that a lot of our union brothers and sisters take for granted and easily overlook………Great benefits and a good livelihood for my profession. 

I can’t imagine the Boeing shop w/out a union.  The line of complaints and requests for special treatment at the boss’s desk would be miles long and work would never get done.  When it comes to employment……..the union defined the word….”transparency”……(you’ve heard that word a lot this last year. Election promises, Corporate bonus’, Insurance and bank  bailouts….etc,etc….)

Everybody knows what everybody makes here in the shop….and you know what you need to do to make better money…………..now shut up and get to work!!!!!

 The union talk went well…………I got up to the mic and gave a small talk about my history w/ the union, the Israeli procedure, and some info about “patientslikeme.com“.

 We had a union member whose daughter died as a result of Regence Blue Shield’s  denial of a medication that would have saved the girl’s life.  I’m sure you’ve heard the story…….it’s been in all the papers. 

 Regence Blue Shield overturned a doctor’s request for a certain medication for the girl. She finally got the expensive med without insurance coverage……..the doctor provided it out his own pocket……..but it was too little to late and the girl passed.

 My union’s involvement into healthcare reform in this country is very serious and reaches the halls of Washington D.C. w/ every session of congress. 

 The union eat’s up stories like these to enact negotiations with the company over better benefits for their member’s.  A few years back……..The Rengence Blue Shield Traditional medical plan (for union people) had gone to crap.  They had stopped updating the plan……..and began to cut coverage up into little pieces.  It was no longer (In my opinion) Boeing’s premium medical plan. 

I think other insurance companies go through this same sort of budgeting as well.  Sometimes budget cuts affect people’s lives.   Sad…isn’t it? Something we all should be aware of……. 

Lets look very carefully at that open enrollment time every year at work…….shall we!!!!!

Just because it used to be the best plan……..doesn’t mean that it still is.

 

With the union meetings…………It’s never about yourself……..it’s always about something bigger.

 Julie and I went with 200 flyers about my talk and a link to: www.patientslikeme.com where people can get help w/ MS and other health disorders that were listed on the bottom of the flyer.

 It’s a good cause…………and the union is all about that and helping their member’s.  I’ve heard of bits and pieces of how member’s want to put something together in support of the “Stem cell procedure”, but the rules of contributing are many, and I believe if it’s meant to be………..it’ll be.

 

 The New York Times did an article about me and http://www.patientslikeme.com about a year ago.

 Link:

 http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/23/magazine/23patients-t.html?_r=1&ref=magazine

It’s how I learned of the many different stem cell procedures around the world and networked like crazy till I was satisfied w/ my decision to make the trip.

Be Well

Todd

