6/13/2009

“I’ve got bad news”……she said

“Yes”……….

“Mary and I were talking and I think we need to take the Kids”……………

(pause)

 

(gulp)

(pause)

 

 

“oooooo”………..”kk”?

 

What do you say to the woman that gives you everything? 

You can’t just say…….”Are you crazy!!!!!!….THIS IS ALREADY COSTING US A FORTUNE!!!!!!!!” 

and then I thought about it………”your right……you need this……don’t you?”

“yes” – she said. Done.

hmmmm……..this aught to be interesting.  It will be a trip of a lifetime for these kids………and for as much as they help out………..wierdly…….things will probably go a lot smoother.

Sadly……as much as I hate to admit it…… at 41…….I do require that thing called “a caregiver”

I wrote a piece about a year and a half ago in the monthly “patientslikeme” newsletter that sort of explains our relationship and why………whatever she needs…….I try my best to give. 

PLM asks:

2. Who is your closest friend and why?

         “That’s easy. It’s my wife of almost 17 years. The great thing about our relationship is we honestly like each other. She is my best friend. She’s so easy going and always keeps our relationship fresh in terms of planning things with others.”

    “Before MS, our lives were very different. Since my DX, we’ve grown miraculously closer together. She is a great listener. I still have much work to do in that department. The one thing we have done well together is fight the many battles that have gotten us to where we are today. ”

“Communication”……. some call it.

Others call it “commitment”.

We’re a good team, and I will fight to the end for her. I’ve got her back, and she’s got mine.

Could I be where I am today on my own? Definitely not. 

She taught me it’s cool to show love. All my kids’ friends want to hang at our house. And it’s not because of me. She is just cool like that.

She taught me the genuine meaning of the phrase “What can I do?” She almost does it on a daily basis. Maybe it’s a woman thing?

I ask all men……..”when was the last time you genuinely asked someone “what can I do?” and you weren’t trying to sell them something?”

 Now men………, try doing it just seven days in a row.

Maybe it’s just me…………, but it’s hard as hell.”

Julie and Todd Suncadia

I say again……….what the lady wants……….the lady gets.

Be well

Todd

