What I thought would be a trip of a lifetime for the kids…………turned out to be something Julie and I will never forget.

 

We rented a tour guide for a little site seeing in Jerusalem on our last day.  It was worth every penny.

Jerusalem

Jerusalem

Our guide was Jewish……….and Julie and I would come to love him by the end of the day. There was no way that we could have seen a fraction of the stuff w/out him. He spoke Arabic, Hebrew, and perfect English. And he would be arguing with people all day with those tools.

 

Our trip started at the Holocaust Museum………..words cannot describe what I saw there……but I’ll try. 

First………no pictures. 

Second…..an architectural marvel.

 What you’ll see…. is something that no movie or Discovery/History Channel series could bring you. 

If you’ve read the diary of Ann Frank………….let me tell you…………..there are 20,000 + Ann Frank’s in there……….  Short stories that would rip your heart out. 

The German propaganda that is on display is unbelievable……leaving you thinking……….wow….how did the world just stand by. 

I could have spent two day’s in there and not even touch a quarter of the intrigue.

 

Again…..hmmmmmmm……….

 

“How could this have happened……….?”

 

Fear never looked so ugly.

 

 “And where was America in all this?” our young guide asked. 

I quickly reminded him that at that time in history……….the U.S. was not the superpower as it is today.  And also reminded him of how quickly that all changed. (the industrial revolution).

 I would have this running debate with our guide all day about the different cultures, values and moral’s.

 Are we really all that different…………some people need to open their minds.

 But in that atmosphere…….in that part of the world………..I can easily see why it is so difficult to do.

 

How these three cultures (Jews, Arabs,and Christians) all co-exist for the same piece of holy ground is beyond me.

outside the museum,  there is a tree planted for every gentile that helped a jew.

outside the museum, there is a tree planted for every gentile that helped a jew.

