Thank you,……cousin Larry

 

One of my first jobs out of high school was being a flight attendant…… um…um…”Steward”…….. for Continental Airlines.  

After passing all the safety tests at Continental’s home base in Houston, Texas…. I had two days to report to work at my new home in Newark, N.J. (basically New York)

 Upon arriving in Newark with all of my worldly possessions (A bicycle, suitcase and $650.00),  I reached into my pocket for the phone # of the only person I knew.  I think I had met Larry back when I was in grade school.  It had been a long time.  And I only had about 30-40 cousins in Oregon.  He had to have been at one of those Chistmas parties.

Mom told me that cousin Larry in New Jersey would help me out.

 

“Cool”…..”I’ll just give him a call”  (I’m sure he’ll just be waiting by the phone)

That’s kind of how the world revolves around you when you are 19.

 

First call………..No answer.

Call again…………..Nope

Call again…………..same…….. nothing

(3 hours in airport) Last Call………..Again no answer.

 

 After three hours……and about 30 phone calls……..I decided to go across the street and spend the night w/ 18 other flight attendants in one room at the “Holiday Inn”. 

All 18 of us had the same…..one person we knew….phone #.

 

I guess when you’re a pilot (like Larry);…. you’re trips can last for days when you’re working.  

Go figure.

 

After about 5 days…….the hotel room started to thin out……..It also got more expensive.  Then finally:

“Todd!!!!!!!!!!!………phones for you”

It was Larry….Thank God.

He set me up with my 1st place……..A room in a big beautiful 7 bedroom house in Elizabeth, NJ.  just 15min. from the airport.  He also hooked me up with a car for $150.00. I only lasted 2 years w/ the airline but I never forget the kindness shown to me by Larry.

Thanks you, Larry…….. and now from me and all my other MS comrades…… we thank you again………

……………800,000 times !!!!!!!!!

I knew you were involved with the MS150………but I didn’t really,really know just how big a deal it was for you.  What a coincidence.  Much Love. Thanks Larry. 

 Check this link out:

 http://www.statesmanjournal.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/200907150312/OUTDOORS/907150426

