I woke up this morning and Mom was gone…….I didn’t get a chance to thank her for all the hard work she put in this weekend. 

Thanks Mom…….and when I yelled……” NO Laundry Tonight!!!!”…..right before I went to bed…………I should have known that you had already done it all.

Dishes too………..We only had about fifty people running around here this weekend and Lynn in the kitchen going crazy with the food……..I wake up this morning at 5:00a……..kitchen clean. Go figure…..

Thanks “Mom’s”.

I can not imagine what it would be like to see your child struggle in life.  I forget this sometimes.  Sometimes you need to walk in the others shoes.  Hard……..when you can barely walk in your own. LOL

 

It was an exhausting weekend for all………and I will probably take the next few weeks trying to thank every one via the blog.

Yes…….. There were that many people.

 

 

Along with all the great things that happened around here this weekend, one of them was that Mom and I had this really great conversation about family.

The Small family is made up of five people.  All very unique in their own way.  Five people living in the same section of the state. All w/in a 1 hour 15 min drive of each other (Traffic permitting). Mom and Dad were separated some years ago………….but still,… getting four of us together for any one thing is like………….

 …………well

……..…..I think finding: “World Peace” would be much easier sometimes.

 

Mom was here a couple days and Sunday morning we went to “Home Depot” to get some stuff for the work being done. Before we left……we were having coffee at the dining room table and chatting away……always trying to figure that “World Peace” problem……..”Big subject” LOL

 

We talked about the word: “Acceptance”

 

It’s so difficult to teach an adult to swim because all they know is the: “Danger”…..

……..and that is: “The Primary thought when they enter the water”…….

………. “Trust”, which is SO needed for sucess……..is a very, very distant “Second”.

 

 

I make the analogy, only because IMHO,… I think some of the same principles apply in my family…….

 

 

Until you truly, truly accept someone for who they are,………

…………realize that you will probably never change them as an adult………..

it is then………..and only then…….that you will be able to swim in the ocean with all the other fish just like you.

Call it the “fish family” (or the Small Family)……….

 

………we are all waiting.

 

Some of us……. for a very long, long time.

 

Be Well

Todd

