You’re much, much,…MUCH……more than that.

 

OK......so I was having a bad hair day

OK......so I was having a bad hair day

 

I remember the day I met Michelle……….February 12, 1983

 I was a freshman in high school, and I had (sorta kinda) a girl friend at the time………(minor detail)

…..that issue was “small potato’s” and this paticular Saturday night was going to be “way cooler!!”………….

 

Think about it……….

I had just turned 15…..and a freshman in high school…..

This “super hot”, “upper-class-mate” (junior) “Girl”,……..was going to pick me up at my house……

Drive us (ALONE)….to this “State Swim Meet”…………..

aaaaaaa……just one little problem………she was “Ed’s girlfriend”…..
whoops…. 

 

That’s OK……I still looked good just standing next to her.

We waited outside in the rain on a cold night to get into “The Jungle” (The Boy’s State Swim Meet Finals) on a Saturday night.  The place was packed. And once in the much crowed swim arena……I quickly forgot who I was with……

…..All I could think about was….what it would take to get back here as a participant…and win this thing………Another story. Another time.

 

That was the summary of our brief introduction……we cheered for Ed who ended up getting second that night to some Saudi Arabian dude from the eastside…..I think?….. (He’ll kill me for saying it that way)…..LOL

 

Anyhoo………Julie (my wife) and Michelle had grown up childhood friends…..the families were close….. and little did I know then,.that in 25+ years I would be raving about her beauty again.

 

I knew her father a little bit…….he had retired from the police department, had a few health issues.  I had gone fishing with him once.  Tom was a great guy whose friends really had a lot of respect for him. We lost Tom some years ago.

 

Michelle’s Mother,……….”Julie”…….I think of often……. 

***************************************************************************   
      

 

Michelle in 2004 informed us that there was a house next to her mothers that was for sale……..it was an old Grandma house……two bedroom…..It was nothing that Julie (the wife) and I cared for (style and updates wise).  Come to find out……The old grandma was the original owner of the house  (she bought it the day of Pearl Harbor 12/07/41).  “Grandma” had raised a family there.  She had spent her last days there.  The house had shown it’s age and wear.  I had stood on the roof while looking to buy it and liked what I saw……A great view of Elliot bay and downtown Seattle. This was going to be my dream house.

 We would buy the house and never move in.  The massive remodel had now started……..

My wife looked at me the day we signed the paper’s………”Isn’t this exciting!!!!!”…….she said looking at me………………

 “What?”……..

 “You don’t look that excited”…………..?…….she says

 

I thought for a moment………

 

 “Do you realize how MUCH (Bleeping) WORK THIS GOING TO BE!!!!!!!”………I not so calmly said.

 

I was laid off from a machinist job at Boeing.  I had just sold my house and made good financially. One problem.  IT TOOK ME eight years to finish the previous remodel. 

This “little project” would end up being the hardest thing that I had ever done in my life.  I had limited funds, limited time, limited knowledge………

Sure………….”bring it on!”……”why not”….I thought.

 *****************************************************************************

 

Michelle’s mother was a retired nurse.  She DX’ed a celulitis condition that had burned two very serious holes in the back of my arms as a result of a new MS medication that I was trying in 2003.

Her orders: “Get your ASS TO THE NEURO NOW!!!!”

Ok….Julie

 

 “Hmmmmmm………..this nurse thing may come in handy”………I thought to myself when we first bought the house next to her.  

The remodel started and I was now seeing “Michelle’s mom” pretty much every day.  Michelle would stop in from time to time and always be positive. Her Mom and I became very close that year.  She always had time to chat…….she would always have an ear for my latest “build crisis”.  Always a sounding board for my frustrations. A watchdog,… so to speak,… of the property.  (Valuable Tools and supply’s all over the place).

She even helped me build the place. When standing at every side of the building I can show you where she helped me. Multiple times w/ multiple things.

 

“Hey Julie”……”can you come hold this for me”.  

 

Poof……like magic……her and  “Domino” (her dog) would be right over and kept things going for me. 

We lost her that year………..and I cried like a baby at her funeral.  I didn’t care. To me it was a tragedy.  She had become a great friend.

Michelle had been dealt a very cruel hand……..I thought to myself.

Although I have never seen those feelings from her. I’m sure she must feel that way sometimes?  What I always see is…. a rock solid individual that was obviously raised right. A great friend whom I have much respect for.  Always have. She knows what she wants and always delivers. A great working mom with rock solid kids. My door is always open to her and her great family.  Michelle talks…….I listen.  She’s “U-ber” smart.

aaaaa…….Ed……your just ……”OK”…..LOL

Michelle and the Wardians have been another family that has been with us every step of the way with this MS stuff.  I got word that she was in charge of gathering people to paint the house…….

Well……. I knew at least people would show up.  She’s all about taking charge……and that she did.

 All weekend long………

 

“Hey Todd……there was some people just standing around so were going to get that “half built shed” out of your basement and build it.”…..”OK?”

 

“aaaa……….ok…….Michelle”

 

“Hey Todd……I had everyone sign this waver so if they fall off your house…..they can’t sue the pants off you”……OK?”

 

“aaaa………ok………Michelle”

 

 You see…………every “I” was dotted and every “T” was crossed.  All paint and supplies donated……Thanks to Michelle and Alki Lumber.

 I don’t think she stopped all weekend.

 

The place is beautiful Michelle……..almost as beautiful as you and your family.

 

Unbelievable what you pulled off.

Much Love and Be Well

Todd

