Todd Bertolotti and I stood back and just looked………….

  
Details Baby!........Details!

Details Baby!........Details!

 “Did you ever think that when we were drawing it up that it would look this good?”……..he says to me.

“No”….I said

“But now that it’s finally painted,…you can bring your clients by to take a look at your work”……..I continued.

He laughed……. (Todd was the architect that designed the wicked remodel)

***************************************************************************** 

 

 

 “Hi there!……we’re Val’s Mom and Dad….Nice to meet you…….”

“Don’t mind us”………( we’re just here to volunteer to paint your house the next four days.)

 

“Wa,wa,wa…….What????????”……”

“Aaaaaa………….OK?….”,

“Who are these people?”………….I said to myself in disbelief.

“Oh….Hi Val,…………I just met your parents???”

 

“Cool”……….she says, and goes about her business.

Val and Mom (Sylvia)

Val and Mom (Sylvia)

The Donlin’s have arguably the nicest house in the neighborhood.

Although, now that my house has been painted……IMHO…that is no longer the case.

I haven’t known the Donlin’s that long……..but I have been invited to a few parties they have thrown. Good Times. Their children pop in from time to time to see what Nate is up to.

They both work in the Healthcare industry and I’m sure they have their opinions about “Healthcare reform” but they are not the type to voice an opinion one way or another.  They are more about being nice, neighborly and relationships.

Tom and I had talked the last few years and he was always the jokester. Always laughing and having a good time.  Val and I had a few conversations and she always seemed to be more:  “down to earth”.  Not that there was anything wrong w/ Tom………but I think that you can now buy his personality at every 7-11 across the country………it comes in a little bottle……..”Five hour energy”

Sadly, we have to pay for it…….Tom doesn’t……That guy could go 24/7…”Wide open/full throttle baby!!!!”  

"Hey Todd.......Do I have any butt left?.......or did I work it all off here this weekend?"

"Hey Todd.......Do I have any butt left?.......or did I work it all off here this weekend?"

After dad had cleaned the house exterior top to bottom earlier in the week …Val showed up Thursday with her parents.  I had never met them. Bill and Sylvia would spend the next 4 days at the house prepping and painting along w/Tom and Val.

***************************************************************************** 

What motivates these people?

*****************************************************************************

 

Richard and Anne have been our neighbors for the last few years.  They were recently married and bought their first home.  Richard is now in the process of doing the same thing to his first house as Julie and I did here.  I’ve seen Richard’s remodel work and the guy knows what he’s doing.  He is in the business with his family and they like to build one custom house a year.

"I guess I owe you a beer........Man your a cheap date!"

"I guess I owe you a beer........Man your a cheap date!"

Richard, for the last several years, has traveled w/ his dad and brothers to do relief work rebuilding places devastated by hurricane Katrina and recently work in Iowa after the floods had left people homeless.

Richard brought his dad and brother to help out in the painting for the weekend.  If all of the relief workers worked as hard as Richard and crew………New Orleans would now be fully restored and now one of the largest cities in America.

“Mooks” and Richard handled most of the dangerous work high up on the house where others just stood back, looked in amazement and held their breath.  Thank you Thank you guys.  You make something very, very difficult look so easy. I’m sure it wasn’t though.

*****************************************************************************

What motivates these people?

*****************************************************************************

 

Brian has wanted to paint my house the last couple of years.  He knew that the money has been tight with all of my medical stuff.  He offered to work w/ me on the payment side but I still couldn’t come up with the cash.  I called and told him what was going on this last weekend.  “I’ll be right over”…..he said.  Brian doesn’t paint house’s anymore.  He own’s his own comapany and is always out bidding jobs and finding new business for his workers.  He kind of set the order of operations for this huge project and made sure that the supply’s being donated…..were top notch.  When there was a sticking point in the project (high ladder work)……he was there to help move things along.

"Okay if you don't paint houses anymore........then what the hell are you doing on that ladder?"

"Okay if you don't paint houses anymore........then what the hell are you doing on that ladder?"

What motivates these people?

 *****************************************************************************

 

You can easily see whats wrong in the world today……..……..

Just turn on the TV or pick up a paper……..its an ugly site sometimes……..

And then……..

One day…………..

Beauty just shows up on your doorstep………….and paints your house?

Very humbling.

Thanks guys, much love,

Todd

