One way to "rough-house" with your kid is in the water.  Water gives us MSer's that extra stability to do stuff we could never accomplish out of the water.

One way to "rough-house" with your kid is in the water. Water gives us MSer's that extra stability to do stuff we could never accomplish out of the water.

 

Nate had the day off from school today and we went grocery shopping.  I knew we didn’t have that much time so we skipped going out to breakfast and went for the “Starbucks” drive-thru and then on to “Safeway” grocery.  I figured we had two hours walking the grocery store before I would be totally wiped out. 

So off we went.

 

I hadn’t spent that much time w/ Nate since returning from Greece,… so when we got in the car he asked me the same question,… he always asks:

 

“Dad…….how long do you think it will be before you can walk again?”…….

 …….“Ya know”….“How long will it take for the stuff to work?”……….

He has asked me this same question over and over all summer………..and today I had this picture in my mind of why he always asked.

 

I tried to remember the last time I had “rough-housed” with Nate.  It had been a long time. 

Now,.. it seems like all our time together is about helping me out with things.  Mobility type issues. 

 

“Here Nate,…….give me your hand!”…….I ask

 “Hey Nate………run upstairs and get this for me…….then run down stairs get that for me………….”

“Nate!!!!!!……….stand here and let me grab your shoulder”………..

 “Thanks Bud!”

 “Thanks Bud!”

 Thank you Bud!…….your the man”……………..I tell him over and over……….day, after day, after day……

 

For Lauren it’s the same thing……….but I had good mobility back when Lauren needed it from me.  Now all she needs…..is money and a ride to the mall.  LOL.

 

I wonder what kind of life that is for Nate and Lauren? 

 

Julie always tells me:….

“It is probably harder to watch someone you love go through something (MS)….. than it is yourself.” 

I think she may have a point.  My focus is solely on getting better and very often the people that help me all the time,…..I fail to mention.  It takes a village w/ a newborn baby.  Maybe the same can be said of the disabled person.

 

Nate was seven when I started to build the house……….he’s seen his Dad’s mobility go from: “just OK”………to mobility: “NOT”…………that’s got to be tough on the kid.

 

After I told him that the results could take up to a year to see……..

”Cool!”………… he says,…….….always w/ a smile on his face.

 

 “Dad”…….“Do you think you could coach the soccer team next year when your walking again?”……(they didn’t have a team this year cause there was no coach)

 “Definitely”……….I said.

 

Rehab will cost me a fourtune………in facility time and lost wages………but the window to “rough-house” is slowly closing……..

And all the money in the world may not get the “rough-house” window back open again.  I think I at least owe Nate the best effort I can.  He’s waited four years now.

This is going to work………and I’ll make it work.

Be Well

Todd

