(Picture from the website).........It had been so long since I last walked,.. that when the technician told me to put my arms down and swing them naturally.....My timing was way off......Whoops!!!......Got to work on that one!!!!

(Picture from the website).........It had been so long since I last walked,.. that when the technician told me to put my arms down and swing them naturally.....My timing was way off......Whoops!!!......Got to work on that one!!!!

 

Sorry bout’ the delay with the update.  Three weeks post transplant and all is well.  Still slowly getting my strenghth back but I have been working out hard almost everyday so it is hard to guage exaxtly where I am for that.

Left arm circulation is still a sustained improvement.  Not much else to report.  Possibly a spasticity improvement……..but still hard to guage because of the extra physical therapy.

 

This is going to work and here is why:

Four words:…………….

 

“Stem” ….”Cell”

 

“Lokomat”

 

And sadly……..the last word is:….. “Money”……

……..(not that I have any right now…..LOL)

 

 

I am so close to this: “walking thing” right now……….I can almost taste it.

I did 25min. on the Lokomat machine yesterday and I walked for the first time in four+ years.  I had visited the gym last Thursday and knew before I even walked in that it was the place for me.

Here is the link for the “Lokomat” machine:

 

http://www.hocoma.ch/en/products/lokomat/

 

To my fellow MS comrades that are in the same mobility boat as me………find a “Lokomat” machine and make it happen!!!! 

 One problem……there are not that many machines out there yet and the time on one will financially drain you.

 

You’ll need five things to start:

– A sign off from a doctor

– A bone density scan (none weight bearing MS’ers may have a problem here)

– Cardio conditioning to start.

– Money……….lots of it……I don’t think time on the devise is covered by insurance yet.

– Lots of time to dedicate to your rehab efforts.

 

“Jerry”….. who helped me get set up, looked at my personal trainer “Marty” and said:

“He didn’t even cry” 

“Most people cry when they haven’t walked for so long”……….Jerry says to me

 

My response:

“I don’t have time to cry……….I should have been on this machine flippin’ months ago !!!!!!” 

“I’m upset w/ myself that it took me this long to get over here w/ you guys”

 

New Rule!!!!!!…………no crying in Lokomat!!!!!!!…….

……….It’s now time to get to work!!!!!!!!

 

My return to work date may get push back a bit. I think I may need more than just four weeks that I have left on my short term disability request.  The trainers at the gym agree.  We will reevaluate in two weeks.    

Take a look at this machine…

….and now when I tell you that this is going to work……

…you may just start believing me.

 Be Well

Todd

