Update:

Question:…”How many steps does a normal person take in one day?”

It just looks so easy.......right?

I’ll bet…that before I left for my stem cell transplant… my walking had diminished to the point where I was probably taking 500 step/day or less.

*****************************************************************
Julie and I were talking about “Pedometers” the other night.  She told me a friend of hers bought one and started a new diet in which she was to take 10,000 steps/day. To lose wieght.

Hmmmm……………

 

***********************************************

At each Lokomat session…I seem to be taking between 2000 – 3000 steps.  I’ve also been incorporating the elliptical and I’m in the process of working my way up to 2000 more steps daily(Goal: 4000/steps daily). I have had 18 “Lokomat” sessions and am now going 5 days a week. 

I’m not really focused on how many steps I take in the pool…….just as long as they are quality “perfect steps”.

People see me during the day and must wonder if this stem cell process worked or not.  Now that I have the energy to work out everyday…….Let me be the first to tell you……it most defiantly did work.  I’m much stronger and am headed in the right direction in terms of rehab.

Am I overdoing it?

Not when I can’t wait to get back to working out as soon as I’m rested.  It used to take a day to recover. Now……….about 12 hours.  Soon………maybe only a couple of hours.

Baby Steps.

Things seem to be progressing.  It will take some time…….But the trainers at “Pushing Boundaries” see the constant improvement.  I have been getting some massage therapy and the lady said to me the other day that she can feel the increased muscle in my hamstrings.

I know people that see me during the day may not notice a difference in my mobility……….but I…and a few others know what is going on in the gym……and it seems to be getting a lot better.

I had my best “Lokomat” this last Friday.  I went 55 minutes and was baring a lot of my own weight.  The guidance force was at 80% for just about the entire time.

By comparison……..my first “Lokomat” was 20min, the machine supported just about all of my body weight, and the guidance force was at 100%. I came home that first day and had to nap for 2 hours. I also wondered if I would be able to make my 2nd “Lokomat” session….that at the time…was another day and a half away. 

This last Friday…..after my 55minute “Lokomat” session I came home…….had no need for an afternoon nap……..and then worked out again that evening for 20 minutes on the elliptical. Taking an additional 1500 steps. Can’t wait for Monday morning’s work!

This is going to work.

It’s just going to take some time and………..

Baby Steps

Be Well

Todd

