It didn’t always used to be like this.

“Dad………..when do you think the stem cell thing will work?”……the kids ask.

“What makes you think it didn’t?”………my reply

“You know……. when are you going to start walking like “old” times?”………..

“Dun-no?….soon….things are starting to wake up though…..patience.”……I say.

August 2000....Lauren was 6, Nate was 2....I walked just fine....was even running a couple times a week.....Just seemed like yesterday.....MS takes it from you slowly sometimes.....I'll get it back!!!!

My Motivation:

Lauren remembers me walking and saw it slowly slip away.

Nate………I don’t think he remembers me walking at all.

********************************************************************************************** 

I’m sure by the end of the month I’ll be screaming for one more month.  The progress has been steady.  It’s going to be hard to go back to work if I’m so close to walking independently in early January but I’m at the end of my financial rope.

Bo – Ho….. Poor me…. right?

Wrong!!!!!!!!………I know I was blessed just to be given the chance to do this.

I am so thankful to all the people that gave me this opportunity. 

I had much to be thankful for on Thanksgiving Day. 

I am working as hard as I can.  I may just run out of time.  But I will continue the rehab once back to work.  Let’s hope I’ll be strong enough to keep the progress going.  I think I will.

******************************************************************************************************

I got some good news the other day at my monthly meeting w/ Dr. Kita……..she said that there are 3000 patients that have been on Tysabri as long as me.  There has only been one reported case of PML. 

So far……..much, much better odds than third year patients. We decided to stay the course. The drug has been very good to me.

Tysabri was yesterday and already I’ve seen a difference.  It seems as though since stem cell…my body just seems to responding better to the standard MS medications I take. (4-AP, Baclofen, Wellbutrin, Oxybutynin).

This morning “Lokomat” was another breakthrough day.  Each day at the gym just gets a little better and better. The first two weeks after a Tysabri treatment have always been good to me so I’m excited to see what the next week will look like.

I think we’ll be taking some steps by the end of the month……I hope……If not……I should be real close.  Muscles are still turning on…..muscles that have been asleep for a long time and fatigue now very easily, but are getting stronger by the week.  This is why I’m sticking to working out hard everyday.  I’m going to get this.  I just have to put all the walking pieces together.

Easier said than done.

This is going to work………Scratch that……….It already has. I told the Professor and Dr. Kita in an email today that I feel like things are starting to go the other way for me.  I haven’t felt this way for the last 17+ years.

Something is defiantly going on here.

Be Well

Todd

