Another Great Update:

Things (nerves) are starting to turn on........and its pretty cool.....

The communication has started.   It started early last week.

It all started late 1:00a Wednesday night (morning):

******************************************************************************************

“Hey honey”……..”you got a minute?”

“What!!!???”………….waking up…she’s a little startled…… 

“Check this out”………”I can raise my leg”……”and bring my knee up towards my chest”……….I say (my bad left leg) 

“IT’S WORKING!!!!!”……………………she says 

“I told you!!!”………..she usually sees the same, old tired me.

*************************************************************************************************

 

I’ve been having “spasms” in my hip flexors the last couple of weeks…..periodoically throughout the day.  A little discomforting to say the least.  I will then immediately break into a stretch that looks something like this: 

Hip Flexor Stretch

 And then…..after a little rest…..I have good control to raise my leg (knee up).  Muscle control that I have not had for years.  Very Exciting. 

Julie told me… once I started having the spasms last week….:

“Maybe things are starting to work?”…….she says

As usual……she was right.

*******************************************************************************************************

 

Back on November 7th….I listed some improvements post transplant.Let’s revisit what I wrote then……I will add my current thoughts in RED as of 12/26/09

Things keep on rolling........

Post Stem Cell improvements:

Less fatigue since transplant – sustained – Now…What Fatigue? I work out and run Kids everyday 

Improved left arm circulation – sustained – Now…circulation is still sustained and my once destroyed nails on my left hand are growing out nicely.

A continually improving gait – sustained – Now…thoughts of using the wheelchair for the longer distances is slowly diminishing and the wheelchair is starting to collect dust in the trunk of my car.

Improved communication with leg/core muscles – sustained – Now…so much improvement in this area…..I’m very excited….and will continue to try to go into as much detail about this as possible in future posts.

Establishing some sort of Knee flexion. (Both legs) – Now….still very slow progress here….communication w/ my hamstrings in both legs will probably be the last piece of the puzzle.  I have had moments…..but still nothing on a consistent basis.  Soon…I hope.

I’ve have also had the energy to add some more work to my work-out schedule. – Now – I continue to add more and more work load as I continue to get stronger week by week.

Lokomat is still three days a week. MWF for one hour followed by core training w/ personal trainer. – Now – “Lokomat” five days a week. I think I will up this schedule to seven sessions a week in January (2X/1 hour sessions on Teus. and Thurs. – AM/PM) and swim/walk will then be 4X’s/wk. (MWF,Sat.) 

I’ve also now added swimming on my off days: Tuesday, Thursday. Saturdays for 1 hour. – Now – I am still currently w/ this schedule.

****************************************************************************************************

 

Each Day….something new happens……

The workouts are addicting in the fact that I’m excited to go in and see what’s going to happen.  I’m back to taking a little nap in the afternoon.  I have pushed that hard in the morning session. New evelopes are openning. And the trainers at “Pushing Boundries Gym” continue to see the improvements happen.

I have a Tysabri tratment this Teusday.  I have never been this strong going into a Tysabri treatment the week before. All-in-all…..this has been the best month in years yet.

Hoping everyone had a great holiday.  It was quiet around our house. 

And quietly…….This has been a turn around year for me.  So much to be thankful for and so much work to do……Maybe the ability to keep working hard towards my goals has been the greatest gift of all.

Happy New Year everyone….and Be Well,

Todd

