It's: Soleus vs. Peroneus tertius.......guess who is winning?

Wiki time: 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peroneus_tertius 

vs. 

****************************************************************************************************
 

You see…as the battle with MS takes your mobility from you… ever so slowly…..you always think to yourself……

………”tomorrow will be better”…..or

……”I’m just having a bad MS day”…..

….”or week”…..

….”or month”……

….”or”…..? 

I never really stopped and looked at the bigger picture……I usually battled w/ how I was to get through the current day w/ the new limited mobility tools that I had. 

 

As the years went by…….The mobility toolbox kept getting smaller and smaller…until earlier this year…….

it hits me…..

“you may not be walking at all this time next year”…..I say to myself.

******************************************* 

 

Enter stem cell……and time away from work to focus on the damage that had been done and what needed to happen in order to fix my walking difficulties. 

We have talked before that walking is made up of a lot of different pieces.  As you lose a piece here and a piece there…..you are all of a sudden left with bad habits. 

Bad walking form. 

And you no longer have the communication left to do anything about it.

***********************************************************************************

 

Now that some of my communication is being restored via stem cell…..It is very exciting to see if I can put the walking pieces back together again. 

“Foot drop”… for many of us MS’ers… is the beginning to the end of our mobility. Hip flexors and knee flexion are the other big pieces of the walking puzzle.  Loose all three of these……and you can bet….a wheelchair will soon follow. 

 

As I continue to fight off the wheelchair….I have learned something rather valuable over the years and from the trainers at “Pushing Boundaries” that is starting to make sence. I thought I would try to share what I have learned. 

My “Foot Drop” fight involves two major players: The Soleus vs. The Peroneus Tertius (“Tibbs” is what they call them at PB) 

As you can see in Wikipedia….The Soleus muscle is very large and your “Tibbs” are very small.  As you lose communication w/ your “Tibbs” in either leg…..your foot and gravity are now in a dropped state. (open angle > than 90deg.) This makes walking very difficult.  You swing your leg around to the side in order for your big toe to clear while walking.  While all this is happening…..the Soleus muscle,on that same leg begins to tighten. Your “Tibbs” (The Peroneus Tertius) on that same leg (the smaller muscle) are now so weak due to little use or no-communication…..That “foot drop” is now a life-style companion.

The “Foot drop” fight is so un-evenly matched….that it doesn’t take long to see who is the victor and “The Evil: “Foot drop” is now a permanent resident that you never invited to your now……..disabled mobility.

Your only hope is to keep that dominant “Soleus” muscle stretched……Always!!!!! 

Trying to bring the angle from shin to big toe to less than 90 deg.

 

Be Well

Todd

