Looks like watching me walk.......minus the beauty

 “It’s like your walking a tight-rope……….”

………people say to me. 

When I’m tired……..I lose the ability to raise my knee (“hike” my hip). I begin to swing my left leg around in order for it to clear and to take another step.  My walking looks awful….. 

It is this: “bad habit”…….that I must break. 

Not an easy thing to do, when you need to be as mobile as possible. (work, family, home navigation, etc., etc……..etc…..) 

Poor nerve conduction is to blame…… 

………..and that is my MS…in a nut shell. 

So……………

  

Monday morning….I was well rested.  I drove across town to “Lokomat” training…..as normal.  It was “MLK” day….so traffic was minimal.  

I had a few extra minutes in the gym before we started.  My balance was good. I felt real stable……..and so……. 

…….I picked up the cane and started walking independently!!!!!!  

Ten steps in one direction………… 

……slowly turned 180 degree’s…………. 

And then ten steps in the other direction……… 

“Hmmmm………..????”…………I’m thinking to my self…….”Where is “Marty?????”  (Pushing Boundaries Trainer)……….

********************************************* 

  Enter Marty:     

“Whatz Up?”……….Marty says. 

“Check this out…..” (I take 10 more steps for him) 

“Woa!!!…..thats cool!”…………He says 

******************************************************* 

They were small steps…….but independant steps…..none-the-less.  About ten yards of distance.  It had been about two and a half years since I walked that good.

*********************************************** 

Tuesday morning I met w/ Dr. Kita to fill out my return to work paperwork.  I told her of the day before.  She reiterated how impressed she was with my last visit.  And then…….she laid down the next challenge. 

“Ya know………If you can walk 100 yards unassisted…….that will change your EDSS score”……she says to me. 

Enough said……I thought. 

  

So there you go……………..Time to start walking like:

A Cowboy

  

Game On!!!!!

  

Be Well 

Todd

