Holy Week - 2010

Happy Holy Week everyone.  Can’t believe it was just 9 months ago that we were at “The Spot”(the holy land) where it all went down.

Maybe the kids will remember this week when they go to mass at school.

If you ever get the chance to go to Israel……make it happen.  We were there for other reasons…obviously, but if I had the means…..I’d love to return to see more.

I bumped this post up from the bottom of the blog:

(one of my 6 posts while we were in Israel)*************************************************************************

Titled:

“No,No,No, Sir…..nothing to see there…just school  yard…..”

 

It was pretty much impossible to see all of the Stations of the Cross because:

A) our Jewish guide didn’t know where to go and ……

B) wheel chair on cobbles = “not good”

We employed a 15 year old Arabic boy to navigate the “Crazy Arabic flea market” chaos that is the “Via Dolorosa”.  (The old Jerusalem roads……… and the supposed path that Jesus took with the cross)

The path The path 

  

We didn’t have the time (or mobility) to visit all the stations but the few we did see…… they spoke to me.

Station #3: Jesus falls the first time…………….

Hmmm………I know the feeling……minus the torture, ridicule, whips and crown of thorns and cross part.

He falls the 1st time He falls the 1st time 

******************************** 

Station 7: Simon helps Jesus carry the cross…………

People I don’t know help me out all the time (opening/holding doors, carrying stuff, giving me an arm to hold on to)………God bless them.

*******************************

Station #1:  Jesus is convicted………..

 This one was very important to me……the guides kept saying:  

“No, No, No,… Sir,…………nothing to see there,….. just school yard……..”

I looked at the one guy…..he was Muslim, and the other guy was Jewish……..”maybe not for you guys”….I said.

I had to climb the stairs for that one………….it took awile….but I made it

More than just a school yard More than just a school yard 

 

It was a time in history…… when we turned our back on him…and in the end he forgave us for everything.

And the Jewish high priests were so jealous of his popularity…….they had Pontias Pilate put him to death…… as not to have blood on their hands.

********************************

We then proceeded to a church in the center of all the chaos.  I don’t know what it’s called but it was amazing…..the last two stations are there and supposedly Jesus’ tomb.

Our guide wheeled me up to the front of the line and started with the Arabic negotiation of how we were to cut in front of all these people who had been waiting patiently. 

The place was about to close and this is where the catholic guilt set in.

I told the two guides that outside these walls………….I respect the Jewish way and the Arabic way of arguing and negotiations but inside this place……. they need to know that those tactic’s are not the catholic way. 

Need less to say………we got in and the people in line were gracious about it.  I hope they all got a chance to see it.

********************************

In the end…………it was a very emotional experience the family and I will never forget. 

Do I feel guilty that I don’t attend Sunday mass like I used to?………sure.

But God knows of my plight……..He knows that Julie and I work hard to give our kids the best that we can provide.

And if I have learned anything in life from my wife of 18 years…..it is this………

“The church of good deeds”…… will always trump…….Mass on Sunday”

Its how we treat/respect each others as humans…….the role model we should be to our kids,…. morals,…. values……it how we live our life……………..Thanking God for everything that he has given us……………

People on the web often are mad at God for this stupid MonSter of a disease.

I have never looked at it that way. God has never given me something I couldn’t handle.

I can’t blame God,………that has otherwise….made my life a thing of beauty.

When I pray……I first always thank God for everything and only ask for the strength to handle all this and provide for my family.

Come to think of it………..he’s always delivered on those prayers.

Works for me.

Happy easter and Be Well,

Todd

