Last month…..the boys from the union paid me a visit………Again!!!!! 

Great Job guys!.....the place looks great!!!!!

They say…you’re supposed to buy the worst house in the neighborhood and then fix it up……….well……..leave to my wife to do just that. 

We bought the place in 2004 and never moved in……our huge remodel had begun. 

Two years of “remodel hell” and ignoring my MS…left me with some new mobility challenges.  The house still isn’t done (probably never will be till we move) and the yard has really been the “eyesore” of the neighborhood these last 6 years. 

Back in my “Mobility days”…..my previous house had the nicest yard on the block. 

Now…..I get to crawl around…..flower bed to flower bed and weed little by little.

**********************************************

The union steward came up to me at work a few months back and asked if I needed any help around the house. 

“Huh???????”…..my reply……”I thought you guys only did charity work?” 

“Most of the time”…….. he said……”our guys really like helping other members though”…… 

“Hmmmm………Well I do have this rockery bank that needs weeding”……….. 

“Done”…….he said…..”We’ll be out in two weeks”………. 

“Huh??????……….Ohhhh……..Kaaaaaa……….”…….I’m think’in to myself

*************************************************

I then get a visit at the house from “Union Steward Rob” on a Sunday prior to work day……..”Is that all“(looking at the 50′ long by 13′ high rockery)……he says to me. 

“Try to think of some other stuff for us to do around here……I’ve got six guys coming out to this place!”….. 

“Ohhh…….Kaa……” 

************************************************

I guess I’ve never really looked at myself as a charity case.  I still work and I’ve got kids to do this yardwork stuff…….

“Right??????”…….. 

“Ya sure”………we all know how that goes w/ kids these days.  I think very few modern day families press their kids into work we used to do around the Small house.  My sisters would argue that I didn’t do that much house cleaning.  But then again….I never saw them do much yardwork…….especially the days when it was raining outside (doesn’t do much of that here in Seattle…LOL). 

*********************************************

On the day the union came out……not only did they clean up the yard……They also help build a fence across the back yard (a little dog containment system). 

Great Job Guys!!!!!

Julie and I thank you very much.  The place looks great.

**********************************************

You can read more about the union efforts at my house here on page six of the monthly union paper. 

Link (page 6): 

http://www.iam751.org/aero/April_2010_Aero.pdf 

 

Side note:  I realize that a lot of you detest Unions in general and all that they stand for. 

Good for you………(whatever)

Besides having a voice in the workplace and fighting for decent “Living wage jobs”……..the Machinist union also does some very admirable charity work.  One of my local: IAM751 biggest foundations is:  “Guide Dogs of America“. You would not believe what it cost to train a dog for a blind person. I am told it is about a two year process and costs a pretty penny. 

A link to Guide Dogs of America:

 
 

 

Be Well, 

Todd

