When the family sat in Professor Slavin office in Tel-Aviv he promised nothing in terms of outcome to MSC treatment.  He said that they had seen progress in some patients and others did not respond to treatment at all.   

Fish Oil for MS.........I do.

I think I did my homework w/MSC…..I knew what I was getting into………..   

And then………..   

One “60 minutes” segment leaves you with some explaining to do.   

********************************   

I watch “60 minutes” every Sunday.  This last Sunday……I watched w/ mixed emotions.  I knew the desperation the patients were feeling.  I was disgusted by the “charlatans” with false promises to the so very weak.  The sick being sucked into: “The Headlights of Hope”.   

I emailed the Doctors in Tel Aviv the other day and I thought I would share.   

**************************   

I write:   

  Hello Doctor’s
 
It looks as though there was some very bad press w/ regards to stem cell and its hopes for regeneration/repair of the nervous system.
 
It aired on a very popular Sunday night news segment nationwide.  The program is called “60 minutes”.  This program is so popular nationally…..that in the past……when they have questioned our U.S. government……a Presidential inquiry usually follows the next day.
 
It is a very powerful news show watched by millions of Americans every Sunday night.
 
Apparently……..There were a few individuals who decided they could profit off the ideas that you have worked so hard in your research over the last many years.
 
I thought I would bring the story to your attention.  Here is the link:
 
http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/04/16/60minutes/main6402854.shtml
 
If interested……you can view “Snake oil sales” part #1 and #2.
 
As you can imagine…….I am now being looked at…. by some in the MS community…..as one of those poor souls as portrayed in the two segments of “60 Minutes”…..
……….someone that just threw his money at false hope.
 
I don’t see it that way at all.
 
Your research is documented here in the US and is verified by doctors and scientist a like here in Seattle. And other places through out the U.S.
 
************************************
 
Question:
 
Any progress being made to either improve the MSC protocol….or any new findings with regards to  mylin regeneration/repair?
 
The beauty about your work is that it was right there, in the national library of medicine for anyone to read.  And I did read a bunch and learned a ton.  This is why I came to you…..this is why…..if I had he money……I’d do it again.
 
I believe it worked.  I believe it’s still working.  I look forward now to the future.  I am happy with my choice.
 
I can write about it all I want……..unfortunately……my words just don’t have the same effect as a damning “60 Minutes” report.
 
************************************************************
 
My rehab efforts continue to go well.  The mobility progress is like watching a “snail circus”. But I continue to try as I get stronger and stronger week by week.
 
I have been experiencing greater sensation in my lower extremities.  I think I need to video tape my rested progress.  Just need a video camera.
 
Thank you for giving me my quality of life back.
 
I no longer live my life for my job.  My job only assists me in living my life. That has been the best gift of all w/ MSC.
 
And I think life should be that way.
 
*********************************************
 
Let me know if there is any new news w/ MSC to report.
 
My friends and family always ask about the latest goings on w/MSC
 
Be Well
Todd 

************************************ 

Dr. Gesundheit responded first (within minutes) 

He writes: 

Dear Todd – thanks for sharing this with us. We heard about the “60 minutes” and I ll watch the program.
More importantly, how do YOU feel? Did you see any further improvement?
Please let me know. best regards, 

Benjamin Gesundheit MD PhD 

************************************** 

So I gave him a quick update: 

Dear Dr. Gesundhiet, 

Yes………..Things are still going good.  I’m back at work and continue to exercise hard 6 hours a week.  Then I’m also able to enjoy my family on the weekends.
 
The lower extremity sensations continue to improve.  I need to video tape my walking independent attempts to prove to people that it’s working…….I guess???
 
I think here in America…….If a person in a wheelchair has stem cell…….well…….if people (media included) don’t see you walking in a couple of weeks…….then they assume the stem cell was failure.  Americans are very impatient that way.
 
I don’t think people realize how difficult it is to walk.  I mean……how so many muscle groups need to work together in order to accomplish steady walking.  The communication (via the nervous system) to all these different muscle groups needs to be strong and without interruption.
 
A muscle spasm usually gets in the way of my walking progress and so it takes me a while to get going.  But once I’m under way…..the strength that I have been building these last couple of months really comes in handy.
 
Each passing month brings a little improvement.  Sometimes it’s not visible…..but then I’ll go into the gym and the “Lokomat” machine numbers show the improvement.
 
I’ve been riding a three wheel bicycle a lot recently.  This cycling…. combined w/ my walking… continues to give me more and more strength.
 
Strength that is coming in handy for when my rested neural communication to my legs is good.
 
Be well
Todd 

********************************************* 

"The Snail Trapeze Act".........(Hmmm.......Maybe these snails are more mobile than I give them credit for.......)

***************************************** 

And then……about two hour after my initail email…..I get this response from Profesor Slavin: 

Dear Todd, 

We never claimed we can cure ALS, like the charlatans pictured did.  We are doing good science and try to change the future of patients in need.  Nothing comes easy in one shot; progress in medicine is slow and happened step by step.
 
I saw parts of the 60-minute program. On the one hand, I was happy to see nailing the guys that are unethical and alerting desperate patients from loosing money and being exposed to false hopes.  On the other hand, I was surprised that the team of 60 minutes produced an unbalanced one-track minded program, grossly not a professional, because it presented only one aspect, ignoring the need for balanced opinion by interviewing real experts of cell therapy, not only non-believers that are not open minded and biased against treatment options with adult stem cells, as required by good journalism.  The goals of the program should be to expose the criminals but not to kill the field of cell therapy, which is most promising.
 
In their program, they featured non-professional thieves, criminals, liars, charlatans, that promise 100% cure, when every one knows there is no cure available for ALS – I have no other way to describe them.  That part was fine, as long as it will result in warning patients in need to stay away from guys like these on the one hand, and draw attention of FDA and police to shut them down, on the other.
 
What I did not like was the fact that they did not interview serious scientists that have solid data on the potential efficacy of multipotent stem cells such as mesenchymal stromal cells (MSC) that can be isolated from the bone marrow, cord of placenta [Wharton gelly] and from the fat tissue.  That created a gross disservice to the field of cell therapy for neurodegenerative diseases, when in fact many serious scientists believe that cell therapy is the future.  Admittedly, we are only in square one so there is a long way to go before we can treat successfully diseases such as ALS, but there will never be any progress unless we try, based on successful preclinical data in animal models of disease, especially since we and others already have data to suggest significant progress in treating another disease which is also associated with damage to the central nervous system – multiple sclerosis.
 
Also, not every cell therapy is the same and one cannot compare apples to oranges and regard them as one thing. Tel Aviv programs are superficial by nature and it is too bad that such an unbalanced program can damage the field and work of serious scientists because of some guys that are selling snake oil to innocent patients.
 
Also, the scientists they interviewed did not disclose conflict of interest, one being involved in developing a pharmaceutical product for treatment of ALS, and the other, a believer in the potential of embryonic stem cells which are far away from clinical application and if used at present can also cause cancer.
 
Regarding your question about progress, yes, we are filing a new patent showing we can transdifferentiate bone marrow and adipose tissue derived mesenchymal stromal stem cells (MSC) which can be prepared from liposuction to neural stem cells, neurons and oligodendrocytes that secrete myelin. We need to do animal experiments before we can do clinical studies.  This is why we keep half of the bone marrow aspirate for the future.
 
In ALS, all we know based on a small number of the first cohort of patients done thus far is that during an observation period of 6 months, there was no obvious disease progression we could measure. Nearly all were very advanced cases.
 
As to current treatment available, which is different from what was discussed in 60-minutes, we know this is step 1 and we know that in the future we may be doing much better because of extensive and very promising new methods now under investigation in our laboratory.  This is also why we keep 50% of the cell harvest cryopreserved, so in the future we could apply more innovative procedures for patients in need. 

Slavin 

***************************************************** 

Yes……..I agree……the 60 minute piece falls short in the fact that there was no effort made to explain where cell medicine is curently……..just one research scientist from the U of Michigan that claims we are ten to fifteen years away.  Everything is the US is always 10 to 15 years away!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also…………

The profesor uses that word again………..

“oligodendrocytes”

I have spoke with him (via email) in the past about this word……..you can read about that here:

https://toddsmall.wordpress.com/2009/12/31/warning-sciency-stuff-2/

*************************************************************************

Sorry bout’ the long post…………..but if you missed it…….I gave an update in there too. 

Things are good. Still working out hard each week.and enjoying about 5 hours of the kids baseball a week right now.  Crazy times. 

Progress is “snail” slow…….but hey….. it’s still progress. 

Be Well, 

Todd

