I used to feel under the rock.......now......maybe a little breathing room

As summer approaches and baseball season is in full bloom……I find myself resorting back to my old ways.  

Cheating the system……..feeling better by the month….always wanting to cheat sleep to hang out with the family and get stuff  done around the house. When your lighting fast like me…..the hard part is……. 

………….you feel good and you want to get stuff done………. 

………….you remember how long it used to take you to do those things.  

Problem is…….your not that “mobile maniac” anymore.  MS acceptance sucks sometimes.  

*******************************************************************   

This last week brought some good news……..I had my first post MSC MRI done on the Brain and Spine.  I’m happy to report that there has been no new changes.  Stability is always a positive. Was it due to MSC? Who knows. But right now the combination of post MSC and Tysabri monthly is really working for me.  Tysabri alone last year was not getting the job done and I remember thinking just one year ago (Before MSC)……..  

“Am I out of options here?”  

The fact that there was no reported new damage is alway a plus……..with any MS’er.  

I had a Tysabri Treatment this last Tuesday and it seems that I’m now getting a little better mileage out of my monthly tank of Tysabri.  I have been on the drug since August 2006 and before MSC…..I would maybe get two weeks of good days out of  my Tysabri Tank.  This last month………it was easily 3 and a half weeks.  

At my last meeting with Dr Kita I was feeling good enough (after working all night) to show her some of my increased strength in the leg muscles.  At prior visits we had gone through similar tests and i was unable to contribute any movement in the hip flexors and hamstrings.  This last week she was pleasantly surprised.  She also made a comment that I was walking better.  (I was actually very tired from being up all night)  

Dad recognized that the muscle mass in my legs had returned.  He would be right. I’ve now gained 15 needed pounds since transplant and definitely have the strength to walk.  

Now I just need the consistent communication to put all the pieces together.  Progress is slow but things are still progressing and I am still hopeful.  

Be Well  

Todd

