The "cake" would be "the cure"

 

Exciting times in the MS community.  CCSVI is all the hype and sounds very promising.  The researchers have now ran with it so I’m sure it will be a couple of years before we see a safe protocol put in place for normal MS’er to be tested and then treated with a safe procedure with minimal risk of re-stenosis. Some of the testing procedures available so far for CCSVI are prone to produce a “false positive” for the condition. 

More on CCSVI……the link is here: 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CCSVI 

I was in Dr. Kita’s office the other day and we discussed where we are with MS currently. This is my take on that conversation. 

Maintenance/Modifying Medication – If you have been diagnosed w/ MS…then you should be on one of these medications. Whether it is from a big name pharmaceutical or you have a natural plan that you follow……either way……you as an MS patient….have talked w/ your doctor and devised a plan of therapy in order to keep you stable. A plan to help the disease from progressing.  I personally am a big pharmaceutical guy. I take a drug called “Tysabri”. Some of the other big phama drugs and therapy’s available are Avonex, Beta Seuron, Copaxone, Rebif, Novantrone, Low Dose Naltrexone (LDN)…….to name a few. 

Conditions that enhance disease progression – I won’t go into all the conditions for the sake that I am not a doctor and am the least qualified to tell you what motivates the MonSter in all of us MS’ers……but I will talk to one condition that is getting all the hype right now and it is CCSVI (See wiki link above). It seems to me, and Dr. Kita agrees, that CCSVI is a condition that is not going to help your MS and also is not the cause of the disease. CCSVI is simply a blood flow/blockage issue in which a very high percentage of MS patients, that have been looked at for CCSVI, have in common. My hope is that a protocol can be quickly developed to detect and repair this condition in the MS’ers that it affects. The MS community needed this protocol in place yesterday

Myelin Regeneration (Repair) – Stem Cell. We’re getting closer but still not there.  I believe the procedure I had done worked to some degree and is slowly continuing to work. But how do we get the procedure I had done….put it on steroids?(Speed the repair….so to speak) This is the next step.  The study in which I took part in was effective in the fact that it proved to the world that this procedure can be safely administered and basically not kill anybody.  Now I think it is a matter of volume and further refinement. Meaning: “Which one of these little MSC’s is the magic Band-Aid?”  

  

********** 

And lastly……”The Cure” – Let’s not lose sight of this……How do we turn our immune system off just enough so it will not attack us and eat away that Myelin? 

Immunology working w/ Neurology holds the answer I believe.  A while back a local Doctor I met last year got promoted. I received the following email: 

MEMO 

To:     VMHS/VMMC Boards, Benaroya Research Institute Board and Executive Leadership 

From: Gary S. Kaplan, MD, Chairman and CEO 

RE:      Dr. Nepom Named Director of Immune Tolerance Network 

I am very pleased to inform you that the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) has named Gerald T. Nepom, MD, PhD, as director of the Immune Tolerance Network (ITN), one of the largest government-funded clinical research networks in the country working to establish new treatments for diseases of the immune system. 

This is a tremendous honor and well-deserved appointment for Dr. Nepom, who presently is director of Benaroya Research Institute (BRI) at Virginia Mason. He will maintain both positions with BRI and the ITN, providing scientific oversight and management. The ITN appointment includes a $1 million management contract for BRI in 2010, confirming the institute’s international leadership role in immunology research. 

Attached is the press release with more details about the announcement. It will be distributed to the media and other audiences Tuesday, April 6. Please join me in congratulating Dr. Nepom and thanking him for his invaluable leadership in advancing science and eliminating autoimmune diseases. 

******** 

Hmmmm……………..So what can our Immune systems tolerate??….Can we turn down the volume??…..Can we locate the mutiny in the Immune Army??  

I think I’ll try to pay Dr. Nepom a visit and see where we are at in all this. (Remember: Dr Nepom was the first doctor in Washington that I found that endorsed Professor Slavin’s MSC protocol). Dr Nepom then referred me to Dr. Kita. 

*********************************************************************** 

Don’t get me wrong CCSVI is a great discovery and will help many when properly implemented. All that I’m saying is…..Eliminating CCSVI is not the end all…….and we need to stay focused on the “Cake”. 

Be Well 

Todd

